January accounting: New Year’s resolutions

So far I have stuck to the New Year’s resolutions pretty well. I thought I would catalogue my successes and missteps so far:


Environmental Efforts

Successes

· Taken public transportation at least once a week, sometimes as many as 3 times a week

· worked toward recycling everything that was recyclable if it was not reusable in some way (in two weeks I have only had one bag of to take to the dumpster–Hurray!)

· Brought my own coffee mug to starbucks to get a cup of coffee (no waste!)

· Signed up for greendimes to reduce the amount of junk catalogues and called several random catalogues to tell them to stop sending them

· Signed up to receive 100% of my household energy from renewable sources (landfill gasses)

Misstep

· Gave in to temptation and bought a new tea strainer ($1.99)

· Bought 2 cups of coffee from Dunkin Donuts and one cup of hot chocolate at starbucks when I didn’t have my own mug to use.

Social efforts

Successes

· logged the Washington DChypothermia hotline into my cell phone to call for a van when a homeless person indicates that they would like to go to a shelter for the night (haven’t used it yet)

· saved the (otherwise unusable) banner sheets from the printer at work so that I may make them into small notebooks for others to re-use. This is under “social” because it is a gentle reminder to my coworkers to be environmentally conscientious.

Misstep

· Haven’t gotten up the nerve to call the responsible folks at my office to request that they replace the Styrofoam cups and plates with paper plates and cups.

3 Comments

  1. spencer said,

    January 30, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Impressive. You really have that much direct contact with homeless people? I usually only run into them when I go to USF’s St. Petersburg campus (it’s just so much better than the Tampa campus, in pretty much every way) – and they never even say anything to me. Not to ask about shelters, not even to ask me for a spare dollar or two. Do I really seem that intimidating?

  2. February 3, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Unfortunately, all DC-ites have contact with the homeless–Especially in Georgetown. If I know I am going down to G-town on a cold day (32 degrees or less at night), I will pack up a couple of hot meals, and when they ask me for cash, I ask them if they would like a hot meal instead. Then I ask them if they have a place to stay for the evening. The answer so far has always been yes.

  3. spencer said,

    February 5, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    That’s pretty cool. I don’t know a whole lot of people who would go to that kind of trouble. It says a lot about who you are.

    So do you feel it is irresponsible to give them cash if you have reason to think they’ll just spend it on booze? Personally, I’m kind of torn on that question, but I’ve heard people argue persuasively on both sides of it.


Leave a Reply

