Zios Pizza

Zios Italian Restaurant 

9083 Gaither Road

Gaithersburg, MD 20877

 

Zios is a regular lunch time destination for my coworkers and me. Today I went with the sole intent of tasting pizza, rather than just getting away from the office and filling my belly.  As usual, when we arrived the dining room was packed and there were far too few servers for the number of customers but because I am reviewing the pizza and not the restaurant, I won’t complain too loudly. 

Once I was seated and served with a fine vintage of Chateau Coca Cola, I ordered the “mini” (7″) Pizza alla Graeco with a side of marinara sauce (this is a fav among friends and coworkers Dee and Lisa).  This pizza is loaded with spinach, feta, mozzarella, and garlic sauce–a gratifying combination of robust flavors.  While I have always enjoyed this particular topping combo, today the “garlic sauce” tasted raw and overwhelming and the toppings may have been too much for even a good crust. 

And that brings me to the crust. This was the part of the pizza that I liked the least.  The crust was reminiscent of that greasy crust first made popular by Pizza Hut.  My perception is that shortening is heated in the pan and then the uncooked dough is placed in the pizza pan and “fried” on the outside while the toppings are quickly layered on before going into the oven.  Theoretically this might make a tasty, crunchy crust if only a small amount of shortening was used.  Unfortunately, while the bottom of the crust was pleasantly crunchy, the body of the crust was soaked with hot grease.  My final attempt to “save” this poor cholesterol-clogged crust was to use it to swab up some red marinara sauce, a lovely well-seasoned red sauce with chunks of tomato bobbing around. In the end, though, I ditched the crust and hoovered up a few good swallows of that red stuff using a large spoon. 

 Rating from 1 (terrible) to 5 (best ever) 

Crust 1 

Toppings 3 

Sauce 4 

Would I go back? The pizza seemed good in theory, but after really tasting the pizza, the crust was just too greasy to revisit.

1 Comment

  1. InandVef said,

    June 25, 2007 at 12:51 am

    ford theater chicago


Leave a Reply

