2007 New Year’s resolutions

1.  Promote “green” awareness

            The first resolution of the year involves finding ways to remind others that we are the custodians of this planet. 

2.  Reducing impact

It would be hypocritical of me to promote environmental awareness and then not live by the manifesto myself.  So I am resolving to live by the rules bulleted below.

·        Resolve to be less of a “consumer”

Obtain necessities by purchasing used items, borrowing items, or bartering.  The exceptions to this are food, medication, and undergarments.  You may have heard of this movement called the “compact”. This is in an effort to reduce landfill waste and resources needed to produce new products.

·        Reduce energy consumption

Find ways of reducing electrical energy consumption in an effort to reduce CO2 production.

·        Take public transportation to work at least once a week

4 Comments

  1. spencer said,

    January 18, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmmm . . . . sweet, sweet Greeeeeeeeen. Yummy.

    Anyway, I like your resolutions, though you are fortunate to live in a place where it is even possible to take public transportation to work. I am jealous.

  2. pete said,

    January 18, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Although I already drink green tea, I resolve to bike to work every day that I can ( i do so now but will continue)! Also,please feel free to bring food experiments to the gym, as I KNOW the trainers will enjoy your baking talent 🙂

  3. Jennifer said,

    January 21, 2007 at 5:55 am

    Thanks for posting the blog. Good for you.

    I just factored my ecological footprint and was a bit humbled. I am only 2 acres less than the average American and have always considered myself pretty green.

    Anyway, let’s have dinner soon. Amy and I want to know you better.

  4. January 24, 2007 at 2:35 am

    My ecological footprint was pretty low, but I live in 326 sq feet and drive an ecomony car–that makes a huge difference. Even so, my footprint could be lower… that is my current obsession.


Leave a Reply

